400 Neville Street
Beckley, WV 25801
Phone: (304)256-4712
Fax: (304)256-4683

RESA 1 Regional Council Members

The RESA 1 Regional Council is comprised of the District School Superintendent and a Local Board of Education member from each county in RESA 1, Mercer, Monroe, McDowell, Raleigh, Summers, and Wyoming Counties. Representatives from Concord University and Bluefield State College serve on the Regional Council as well as one chief instructional leader, one school administrator and one teacher from the RESA 1 service area.

McDowell County

Nelson Spencer - Superintendent
J. Michael Calloway - Board Member
Carolyn Falin - Assistant Superintendent/Curriculum Representative

Mercer County

Dr. Deborah Akers - Superintendent
Mary Alice Kaufman- Board Member

Monroe County

Joetta Basile - Superintendent (Co-Chairperson)
Danny Lively - Board Member

Raleigh County

David Price - Superintendent - (Chairperson)
Cynthia Jafary - Board Member
John Henry - Principal Representative
Amanda Meadows - Teacher Representative

Summers County

Kimberly Rodes - Superintendent
Dr. Deborah D. Clark - Board Member

Wyoming County

Deirdre Cline - Superintendent
Morgan (Mike) Davis - Board Member

Higher Education

Dr. Kathy Liptak - Concord University,
Darrell Thompson - Bluefield State College
Shelia Sargent-Martin - Bluefield State College
Carolyn Long - West Virginia University Institute of Technology

West Virginia Department of Education

Dr. Kathy D'Antoni - Assistant State Superintendent

West Virginia Board of Education

Dr. William M. White -WVBOE Representation
Jason Butcher - Coordinator


Dr. Robin Lewis -Executive Director

Fiscal Agent

Raleigh County Schools

Richard (Darrin) Butcher - Treasurer/CSBO